T20 Leagues that offers more money than T20 World Cup; List of money offered by IPL, BBL, PSL and other

In a month’s time, the T20 World Cup is about to start. It’s only a matter of fact when we see all the teams playing in the biggest tournament of 2022. A total of 16 teams will compete in the T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia. The top eight teams have by default qualified for the “super 12” on the basis of rankings.

While the rest of the eight teams will fight for the remaining four spots in the “super 12”. Without a doubt, the T20 World Cup is the biggest tournament in the game, which offers everything to cricket lovers. Australia won the last edition in 2021 in the UAE, when they defeated New Zealand in the final.

Winning a big tournament not only gives you the title of world champion, but it also gives a lot of cash prizes for the winners and other teams in the competition. Australia won the cash prize of 2.2 million Australian dollars (11.9 crore INR) as the winners. On the other hand, New Zealand ended as the runners-up and won the cash prize of 1.1 million Australian dollars (INR 5.8 crore). But do you know there were a few cricket leagues that offered more money to the winners than the T20 World Cup?

2. Champions League Twenty T20 (CLT20)

The Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20) was established in 2008.However, the first season was played in October 2009 with a total of 12 top T20 teams from the leagues around the world (IPL, BBL, and other domestic leagues). A total of six editions were played in this tournament, with Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians winning two each. New South Wales Blues and Sydney Sixers won it once in 2009 and 2012, respectively.

The last edition of the tournament was played in 2014, which was won by Chennai Super Kings. However, this tournament was controlled by the Board of Control for Cricket in India, Cricket Australia, and Cricket South Africa. The winning amount in the competition was USD 2.5 million (19.9 crore Indian Rupees), which CSK won in 2014. The runners-up of this competition won the amount of 1.3 million USD (10.3 crore Indian Rupees), which is almost the same as Australia got for winning the T20 World Cup in 2021.

1. Indian Premier League (IPL)

The Indian Premier League was one of its kind when it was established in 2008. All the other leagues came after the IPL. So far, there have been a total of 15 successful seasons for the IPL. There is no doubt that it is the most lucrative and cash-rich league that offers a whopping amount to the teams and players who feature in this competition.

Speaking of the cash prize for winning the competition, it is also way higher than the T20 World Cup. It was the Gujarat Titans that won the latest edition of the IPL in 2022, beating the Rajasthan Royals in the finals. After winning the tournament, Gujarat won the cash prize of 20 crore in Indian Rupees (USD 2.5 million) and runner-up Rajasthan won 13 crore in Indian Rupees (USD 1.6 million). With the exception of the IPL, it has been learned that prize money may be increased in the coming seasons. The winning prize of 2.5 million USD might be increased to 3 million USD.

List of T20 Competition offering prize money as compared to T20 World Cup

1Indian Premier League (IPL)INR 20 CroreINR 13 Crore
2Champions League Twenty T20 (CLT20)INR 19.9 CroreINR 10.3 Crore
3T20 World CupINR 11.9 CroreINR 5.8 Crore
4Caribbean Premier League (CPL)INR 8 croreINR 5.25 Crore
5Bangladesh Premier league (BPL)INR 6.7 CroreINR 2.78 Crore
6Big Bash League (BBLINR 3.58 CroreINR 1.75 Crore
7Pakistan Super League (PSL)INR 3.4 CroreINR 1.36 Crore
“INR = Indian Rupees”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *