Rohit Sharma registered himself with an unwanted record after getting out for a duck in 3rd T20 vs South Africa 

IND vs SA 2022: Rohit Sharma and his team faced a 49-run defeat in the third and final T20I against South Africa in Indore while chasing a mammoth target of 228 runs. Batting first, South Africa scored 227/3 in their 20 overs courtesy of a brilliant 48-ball century from the bat of Rilee Rossouw.

He remained unbeaten on 100* off 48 balls with 7 fours and 8 sixes, while Quinton de Kock also played a good innings of 43-ball 68. In the end, David Miller played a cameo of 19* off 5 to take the team past the 220-run mark.

It was a massive target to chase for India and they needed a good start from skipper Rohit Sharma because Virat Kohli and KL Rahul were rested for the game. However, Rohit could only manage a two-ball duck and Kagiso Rabada dismissed him in the very first over.

IND vs SA 2022: Rohit Sharma registered an unwanted Record in T20I

However, Rohit was dismissed for a duck in the first game as well, and it was his second duck in three games. With this, he also registered his name for an unwanted record in T20 internationals. Notably, it was the 43rd occasion that Rohit Sharma got out for a single-digit in T20 internationals. He went past Ireland’s opener Paul Stirling (42 times) with this unwanted record.

Most Single-Digit scores in T20 internationals

Rohit Sharma (India) – 43

Paul Stirling (Ireland) – 42

Mushfiqur Rahim (Bangladesh) – 40

Mohammad Nabi (Afghanistan) – 39

Shahid Afridi (Pakistan) – 37

Once the Indian skipper got out, Shreyas Iyer (1) also followed him soon. However, Rishabh Pant (27 off 14) and Dinesh Karthik (46 off 21) tried to keep the run-rate under control, but they too fell in the chase. In the end, Deepak Chahar (31 off 17) and Umesh Yadav (20*) stayed for a while, but it was too big of a target for the Indian tailenders.

The hosts got all out for 178 runs in 18.3 overs and lost the match by 49 runs. Rossouw won the “Man of the Match” while Suryakumar Yadav won the “Player of the Series” award. With the T20 series done, both teams will now lock horns in a three-match ODI series starting on October 6.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *