Most Wickets in T20 World Cup

The next edition of one of the most prestigious competitions in the world is about to start. The T20 World Cup 2022 is scheduled to start on October 16, when Sri Lanka will take on Namibia in the first match of the competition. Australia won the last edition in 2021 in the UAE. A total of seven editions (2007-2021) have been played in the history of the T20 WC.

The inaugural tournament took place in South Africa and the UAE, which India won. However, around 250 players compete in every edition, but not everyone can dominate. However, the role of a bowler becomes hard in T20 cricket because the batsmen are also after the bowling and the bowling in the world cup match is even harder. But there are a few bowlers who have mastered it. Here we will look at the highest wicket-taker in the T20 World Cup.

5. Ajantha Mendis (2009-2014) Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka has always produced some of the best spinners in the world of cricket. Ajantha Mendis was certainly among them, who represented his country in four T20 WC between 2009-2014. He was one of the reasons that Sri Lanka won the 2014 WT20. Mendis has played 21 games and has 35 wickets to his name at an economy rate of 6.70. He has bowled the best figure (6/8) in the history of the T20 World Cup.

4. Saeed Ajmal (2009-2014) Pakistan

Another spinner makes it to the list. Former Pakistan spinner Saeed Ajmal comes in fourth place on this list. Ajmal played 23 games for Pakistan in the WT20. He was an integral part of the 2009 T20 World Cup win for Pakistan. Ajmal has taken 36 wickets at an economy rate of 6.79 with three four-wicket hauls.

3. Laisth Malinga (2007-2014) Sri Lanka

Third on the list is Arguably, the greatest T20 bowler the game has ever seen. Lasith Malinga was known for his pin-point yorkers and ability to take wickets at any stage of the match. He played for his country for five editions between 2007 and 2014. Malinga played 31 matches and picked up 38 wickets at an economy rate of 7.43 with one five-wicket haul. Sri Lanka won the 2014 WT20 under the leadership of Malinga.

2. Shahid Afridi (2007-2016) Pakistan

The former Pakistan skipper, Shahid Afridi, is the second highest wicket-taker in the history of the T20 World Cup. Afridi played in six editions between 2007 and 2016 for Pakistan. He has played an important role in Pakistan’s 2009 T20 World Cup glory. In fact, he was the “Man of the Match” in the finals of the 2009 WT20 against Sri Lanka. In 34 games, he has picked up 39 matches at an economy rate of 6.71, including two four-wicket hauls.

1. Shakib Al Hasan (2007-2022*) Bangladesh

The man who leads the chart is the finest all-rounder in the history of the game. Shakib Al Hasan is the highest wicket-taker in the history of Women’s Twenty. He is also the only second player to play in every T20 World Cup since 2007. Shakib has played 31 games and taken 41 wickets at an economy rate of 6.43 with three four-wicket hauls. In the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022, he will captain his team. 

Most Wickets in T20 World Cup

Shakib Al Hasan (BAN)2007-202131110.1414/96.43
Shahid Afridi (PAK)2007-201634135.0394/116.71
Lasith Malinga (SL)2007-201431102.4385/317.43
Saeed Ajmal (PAK)2009-20142389.2364/196.79
Ajantha Mendis (SL)2009-20142178.3356/86.70
Umar Gul (PAK)2007-20142482.4355/67.30
Dale Styen (SA)2009-20162383.1304/176.96
Stuart Broad (ENG)2007-20142686.5303/177.72
DJ Bravo (WI)2007-20213488.4274/388.81
Ravi Ashwin (IND)2012-20211866.0264/116.01

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *