IPL 2023: List of Purple Cap winners in IPL

IPL 2023: The 16th edition of the Indian Premier League is underway, and a number of players across the world are taking part in it. At the end of every season, some prestigious awards are given to some of the top performers in the league. One such award is called the “Purple Cap”, which is provided to the bowler who takes the most wickets in the entire season.

It happens sometimes that when two bowlers end up taking the same number of wickets, the bowler with the best economy rate is awarded this “Purple Cap.” This award comes with a prize of INR 15 lakh. In the history of the IPL, there are only two bowlers who have won it twice. Below is the list of all bowlers who won the “Purple Cap” at the end of the IPL season.

IPL 2023: List of Purple Cap winners in IPL

2023Mohammed ShamiGujarat Titans17288.032/0
2022Yuzvendra ChahalRR17277.751/1
2021Harshal PatelRCB15328.141/1
2020Kagiso RabadaDC17308.342/0
2019Imran TahirCSK17266.692/0
2018Andrew TyePBKS14248.003/0
2017Bhuvneshwar KumarSRH14267.050/1
2016Bhuvneshwar KumarSRH17237.421/0
2015Dwayne BravoCSK17268.140/0
2014Mohit SharmaCSK16238.391/0
2013Dwayne BravoCSK18327.951/0
2012Morne MorkelDC16257.191/0
2011Lasith MalingaMI16285.950/1
2010Pragyan OjhaDeccan16217.290/0
2009RP SinghDeccan16236.981/0
2008Sohail TanvirRR11226.461/0

Who has won the “Purple Cap” most time in the IPL?

There are only two bowlers who have won it twice. Dwayne Bravo won it in 2013 and 2015 while Bhuvneshwar Kumar won it in 2016 and 2017.

Who has taken most wickets one IPL season?

Harshal Patel (RCB) in 2021 and Dwayne Bravo (CSK) in 2013 took 32 wickets each.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *