IND vs ZIM: BCCI announces a 15-member squad for Zimbabwe tour; Star all-rounder makes his comeback

IND vs ZIM: With the jam-packed schedule for the Indian team, the Men in Blue are scheduled to play a three-match ODI series against Zimbabwe. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the squad for India’s Zimbabwe tour.

The tour will start next month. There are a few noticable changes in the squad. However, the selection committee led by Chetan Sharma has given a rest to all senior players. Just like in the ODI series against West Indies, Shikhar Dhawan will lead the side in three ODIs. On the other hand, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah and Rishabh Pant have got a break.

Shubham Gill, who won the “Player of the Series” award against the Caribbean team, is there with the team. He is expected to open with Dhawan against Zimbabwe too. Ruturaj Gaikwad, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan, and Sanju Samson are also in the team.

Deepak Chahar and Washington Sundar are two players who have made comebacks for the team. Chahar was out of action for the last 3-4 months due to injury. He is back on the side. Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Siraj, Avesh Khan, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, and Axar Patel are also part of the squad.

However, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Ravindra Jadeja, who played against West Indies, are not in the squad. These players have also got the break. The first ODI will kick off on August 18 at Harare Sports Club.

IND vs ZIM: Indian Squad

IND vs ZIM: Shikhar Dhawan (C), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (Wk), Sanju Samson (Wk), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Akshar Patel, Avesh Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Siraj, Deepak Chahar.


When will the tour of Zimbabwe start?

The first ODI match will start on August 18 at Harare Sports Club

Who will lead the Indian team against Zimbabwe?

Shikhar Dhawan, who led the Indian team against West Indies, will also lead the team in Zimbabwe.

Why is Virat Kohli not playing against Zimbabwe?

Virat Kohli along with Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Rishabh Pant and Ravindra Jadeja has been given rest.

Who will open with Shikhar Dhawan in ODI against Zimbabwe?

Shubman Gill, who won the “Man of the Series” award against West Indies will open with Dhawan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *