IND vs WI: India announces ODI and Test Squads vs WI: Yashasvi Jaiswal in, Cheteshwar Pujara Out; Sanju Samson made ODI comeback

IND vs WI: After losing the final of the World Test Championship 2023 against Australia at the Oval, Team India will face the West Indies in their next assignment. India will tour the West Indies for a multiformat series that will kick off on July 12 with two test matches. Then both teams will play three ODIs, starting on July 27, while the tour will end with five T20Is on August 13.

It will be the first test series for India in the next WTC cycle. On the other hand, the three-match ODI series will be ideal for the preparation of the Asia Cup and the ODI World Cup. On Friday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the squads for ODIs and Tests. It saw some new faces, while some veterans were dropped. The biggest name to get dropped from the team was Cheteshwar Pujara, while Ruturaj Gaikwad and Yashasvi Jaiswal got their maiden test caps.

IND vs WI: India’s Squad for ODIs and Tests for the tour of West Indies

The test squad saw Ajinkya Rahane getting the vice-captaincy role and he will assist Rohit Sharma in the two tests, Rahane was the top scorer for India in the WTC final against Australia. KS Bharat and Ishan Kishan have retained their places as wicketkeepers. Umesh Yadav and Mohammed Shami have been rested, while Mukesh Kumar and Navdeep Saini have made comebacks into the test team.

Speaking of the ODI team, Rohit will lead the side with Hardik Pandya as vice-captain. Sanju Samson has made his comeback after injury. He last played for India in December 2022. Gaikwad has made his way to the ODI team as well. Mukesh Kumar and Umran Malik are the two new faces in the ODI squad.

ODI Squad: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Ruturaj Gaikwad, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Mukesh Kumar, Navdeep Saini.

Test Squad: Rohit Sharma (C), Hardik Pandya (vc), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Sanju Samson (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jaydev Unadkat, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik, Mukesh Kumar.

IND vs WI: Tests and ODI Schedule

July 12-161st TestWindsor Park, Dominica07.30 PM IST
July 20-242nd TestQueen’s Park Oval, Trinidad07.30 PM IST
Jul-271st ODIKensington Oval, Barbados07.00 PM IST
Jul-292nd ODIKensington Oval, Barbados07.00 PM IST
Aug-013rd ODIBrian Lara Cricket Academy, Trinidad07.00 PM IST

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *