IND vs SA: India announces 16-member squad for South Africa ODIs: Young pacer gets maiden call, no Shami not Umran Malik

IND vs SA 2022: India are currently playing a three-match T20I series against South Africa at home. The hosts won the first T20I on Wednesday and will lock horns again in the second match on Sunday in Guwahati. However, both teams will also play a three-match ODI series after the conclusion of the T20 series.

The first ODI will take place on October 6 in Lucknow. On Sunday, the selection committee announced a 16-member squad for the upcoming ODI series. Notably, the Indian team, who will feature in the T20 World Cup, will fly to Australia on October 6. The squad announced mainly has those players who are not part of the T20 World Cup.

Shikhar Dhawan will lead the ODI team while Shreyas Iyer will be the vice-captain. Sanju Samson and Ishan Kishan are the two wicket-keepers in the side. Ruturaj Gaikwad and Shubman Gill are the other two openers apart from Dhawan.

IND vs SA 2022: India picks a few young players

After some consistent performance, Rajat Patidar has earned his maiden call. Rahul Tripathi and Shahbaz Ahmed are the other two players who are looking to make their debut. Kuldeep Yadav and Ravi Bishnoi are the two spinners in the team, while Deepak Chahar and Mohammed Siraj are also in the team.

One surprise name that makes the side is Bengal pacer Mukesh Kumar. However, Mohammed Shami and Umran Malik haven’t been picked in the side, which is a surprise. All the three matches will take place on October 6, 9 and 11 in Lucknow, Ranchi and New Delhi.

India’s Squad: Shikhar Dhawan (C), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubhman Gill, Shreyas Iyer (vc), Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Rahul Tripathi, Rahul Tripathi, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Avesh Khan, Mohammed Siraj.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *