IND vs AUS: List of Winners in Border-Gavaskar Trophy so far

IND vs AUS: The Border-Gavaskar Trophy between India and Australia is scheduled to start in Nagpur when the first test match is played at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium. The first game will begin at 9:30 a.m. with two of the biggest teams clashing with each other to script another blockbuster of the series. India and Australia have a modern-day rivalry that is quite exciting to watch for the fans.

The first BGT series was played in 1996/97 in India for a one-off test, which was won by India. So far, a total of 15 editions of BGT have been played, and India is dominating. It is not often seen that Australia has a poor win percentage against an opponent, and that too in test matches. But India has always had the upper hand on the Australians in history.

Out of 15 BGT series, India has won nine, Australia has won five, and one series ended in a draw. Out of nine wins for India, they won the last three editions, which included two series in Australia. On the other hand, Australia has only had one test series in India, which came in 2003. Since then, it’s been 19 years since the Men in Yellow have had any success in Indian conditions.

IND vs AUS: History Between India and Australia in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy

Thus, the 2023 BGT series between these two teams will be more exciting because both teams have strong reasons to not lose the series. India needs to make it to the final of the ongoing World Test Championship in 2021-23. They need to win by a score of 3-0 or 3-1 and can’t afford to lose more than one match. On the other hand, Australia, which has lost all three BGT series, will have many things to prove. So let’s check the results of all the Border-Gavaskar Trophy matches between India and Australia so far.

Series ResultsSeasonWinnerMargin
Border-Gavaskar Trophy (Australia in India)1996/97India1-0 (1)
Border-Gavaskar Trophy (Australia in India)1997/98India2-1 (3)
Border-Gavaskar Trophy (India in Australia)1999/00Australia3-0 (3)
Border-Gavaskar Trophy (Australia in India)2000/01India2-1 (3)
Border-Gavaskar Trophy (India in Australia)2003/04Drawn1-1 (4)
Border-Gavaskar Trophy (Australia in India)2004/05Australia2-1 (4)
Border-Gavaskar Trophy (India in Australia)2007/08Australia2-1 (4)
Border-Gavaskar Trophy (Australia in India)2008/09India2-0 (4)
Border-Gavaskar Trophy (Australia in India)2010/11India2-0 (2)
Border-Gavaskar Trophy (India in Australia)2011/12Australia4-0 (4)
Border-Gavaskar Trophy (Australia in India)2012/13India4-0 (4)
Border-Gavaskar Trophy (India in Australia)2014/15Australia2-0 (4)
Border-Gavaskar Trophy (Australia in India)2016/17India2-1 (4)
Border-Gavaskar Trophy (India in Australia)2018/19India2-1 (4)
Border-Gavaskar Trophy (India in Australia)2020/21India2-1 (4)
Border-Gavaskar Trophy (Australia in India)2023TBCTBC

Who has won the most Border-Gavaskar trophy?

Out of 15 BGT series, India has won nine, Australia has won five, and one series ended in a draw.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *