FIFA World Cup 2022: List of FIFA World Cup winners

FIFA World Cup 2022: Football is the most popular game in the world right now. Over 200 countries play this sport across the globe, which shows the popularity of the sport. However, the FIFA World Cup is the most prestigious title or trophy on this planet. FIFA stands for Fédération Internationale de Football Association, which organises this competition every four years. The inaugural edition was played in 1930.

A total of 21 editions of the FIFA World Cup have been played in its history. A total of 32 teams compete in this competition, and only one team emerges victorious. Brazil is the most successful team in the FIFA World Cup with five titles overall, while Germany and West Germany have four titles within them, and Italy, Uruguay and France have two titles each. France won the 2018 edition but couldn’t win the 2022 tournament as they lost in the final. And, it was Lionel Messi and Argentina that defeated France in the FIFA World Cup 2022 final by in the penalty with a margin of 4-2. So let’s check the list of winners so far.

1930Uruguay4-2ArgentinaEstadio CentenarioMontevideo, Uruguay
1934Italy2-1CzechoslovakiaStadio Nazionale PNFRome, Italy
1938Italy4-2HungaryStade Olympique de ColombesParis, France
1954West Germany3-2HungaryWankdorf StadiumBern, Switzerland
1958Brazil5-2SwedenRåsunda StadiumSolna, Sweden
1962Brazil3-1CzechoslovakiaEstadio NacionalSantiago, Chile
1966England4-2West GermanyWembley StadiumLondon, England
1970Brazil4-1ItalyEstadio AztecaMexico City, Mexico
1974West Germany2-1NetherlandsOlympiastadionMunich, West Germany
1978Argentina3-1NetherlandsEstadio MonumentalBuenos Aires, Argentina
1982Italy3-1West GermanySantiago BernabéuMadrid, Spain
1986Argentina3-2West GermanyEstadio AztecaMexico City, Mexico
1990West Germany1-0ArgentinaStadio OlimpicoRome, Italy
(3-2 pen)
ItalyRose BowlPasadena, United States
1998France3-0BrazilStade de FranceSaint-Denis, France
2002Brazil2-0GermanyInternational StadiumYokohama, Japan
(5-3 pen)
FranceOlympiastadionBerlin, Germany
2010Spain1-0NetherlandsSoccer CityJohannesburg, South Africa
2014Germany1-0ArgentinaMaracanã StadiumRio de Janeiro, Brazil
2018France4-2CroatiaLuzhniki StadiumMoscow, Russia
2022*Argentina3-3 (4-2 pen)FranceLusail Iconic StadiumLusail, Qatar

Who has won the most FIFA World Cup?

Brazil is the most successful team in the FIFA World Cup with five titles in 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002, respectively.

Who won the FIFA World Cup 2018?

France won the 2018 edition and they have now won two edition. Their previous win came in 1998.

How many FIFA World Cup tiles has Germany won?

Germany has won four titles in 1954, 1974, 1990, 2014.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *