T20I Cricket: Fastest century by an Indian in T20 cricket

India is one of the strongest teams when it comes to the game of cricket. But in the shortest format, India holds many records. T20 cricket gave India the idea of the IPL and the rest is history. However, one of the main reasons for the success of the Indian team in T20I cricket is the strength of Indian batting.

India holds the record for the highest number of centuries in T20 internationals. The Men in Blue have a total of nine centuries, and Rohit Sharma has four of those. But do you know who has hit the fastest century as an Indian in T20 cricket? So let’s check it out.

3. Suryakumar Yadav (48-ball century) against England at Trent Bridge

Many people have believed that SKY is a one-of-a-kind batsman since his debut. That’s what he has proved over and over again whenever he gets the chance. Suryakumar holds the record for the third fastest century by an Indian in T20I cricket. He smashed a 48-ball century against England at Trent Bridge on July 10, 2022. India were chasing a huge target of 216 set by England.

The Men in Blue lost their first three wickets for just 31 runs. But after that, these innings by SKY changed the total momentum of the match. It was one of the finest centuries in the history of T20 cricket. However, India fell short by 17 runs of the target and could only manage 198/9 in their 20 overs. But that innings from Suryakumar was out of this world. He scored 117 runs off just 55 balls, including 14 fours and six maximums.

2. KL Rahul (46-ball century) against West Indies at Lauderhill

Next on the list is India’s stylish opener, KL Rahul. He is among the best all-format batsmen in the current era. He scored a 46-ball century that too came in a losing cause. It was a match against West Indies Lauderhill on August 27, 2016. Batting first, the West Indies made a huge score of 2454/6 in their 20 overs. Evin Lewis also scored 100 off just 49 balls.

It was a big total to chase and India lost Ajinkya Rahane (7) and Virat Kohli (16) for a score of 48 runs. But after that, it was KL Rahul’s show. Rohit Sharma also played his part and scored a quick 62 runs off 28 balls. But Rahul carried his bat and slammed a 46-ball century to take the team closer to the target. However, in the end, India fell short by just 1 run of the target and scored 244/4 in their 20 overs. Rahul remained not out on 110 off 51 balls, including 12 fours and five maximums.

1. Rohit Sharma (35-ball century) against Sri Lanka (Joint-fastest by any Batter in T20 cricket)

Rohit Sharma in white-ball cricket is a beast. He holds many records that are almost impossible to break. From the highest individual ODI score (264) to most T20I centuries. But he also holds the record for the joint-fastest century by any batter in T20I cricket. He struck a 35-ball century against Sri Lanka at Indore on December 22, 2017. It was Sri Lanka that won the toss and chose to bowl first.

That decision totally backfired on them as the Indian openers added 165 runs in just 12.4 overs. Rohit Sharma scored a brilliant 118 runs off 43 balls, including 12 fours and 10 sixes. While Rahul scored 89 off 49 balls with five fours and eight sixes. India posted 260/5 in 20 overs. In reply, Sri Lanka got all out for just 172 runs and lost the match by 88 runs. Rohit equaled the record for the fastest T20I century.

List of Fastest century by an Indian in T20I cricket

NameBalls for 100RunsBalls4s6sAgainstVenueDate
Rohit Sharma35 balls118431210Sri LankaIndore22 Dec 2017
KL Rahul46 balls110*51125West IndiesLauderhill27 Aug 2016
Suryakumar Yadav48 balls11755146EnglandNottingham10 July 2022
KL Rahul53 balls101*54105EnglandManchester3 July 2018
Deepak Hooda55 balls1045796IrelandDublin (Malahide)28 June 2022
Rohit Sharma56 balls100*56115EnglandBristol8 July 2018
Rohit Sharma58 balls111*6187West IndiesLucknow6 Nov 2018
Suresh Raina59 balls1016095South AfricaGros Islet2 May 2010
Rohit Sharma62 balls10666125South AfricaDharamshala2 Oct 2015
List of Fastest century – IND T20 Cricket


Who holds the record of fastest century in T20I cricket?

Rohit Sharma and David Miller has hit the fastest (35-balls) century in T20I cricket.

Who has hit the most century in T20I cricket?

Rohit Sharma holds the record of hitting the most centuries in T20I. He has four centuries in T20 internationals.

Which Indian has hit the fastest T20I century?

Rohit Sharma has hit the fastest (35-balls) century in T20I cricket.

What is the highest score by an Indian in T20i cricket?

Rohit Sharma scored 118 runs against Sri Lanka, which is the highest by an Indian.

Who scored the first century in T20I as an Indian?

It was Suresh Raina, who scored the first century by an Indian in T20i cricket against South Africa in 2010 T20I World Cup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *