Asia Cup 2022: Complete List of Winners of the Asia Cup

Asia Cup 2022: The 15th edition of the Asia Cup is about to start within a couple of weeks’ time. This edition will be played in the United Arab Emirates. Earlier, it was decided by the Asia Cricket Council that Sri Lanka would host this edition. But due to the economic crisis and political issues, it was shifted to the UAE.

Notably, this is the only second time that the Asia Cup will be played in the T20 format. The first time was in 2016, when India became champions by beating Bangladesh. India are the defending champions as well as having won the 2018 edition.

India is the most successful team in this competition, having won the most titles with seven. After India, it is Sri Lanka that has won five and Pakistan has won two editions inn the history. The upcoming tournament will start on Saturday, August 27 with a match between Afghanistan and Sri Lanka at Dubai Cricket Stadium.

A total of six teams, including a qualifying team, will compete to prove their dominance in the Asia region. However, this tournament is also ideal to check the preparations for the next T20 World Cup. The first ever edition took place in 1984 in the UAE. And it was India who won it, beating Sri Lanka in the finals.

Asia Cup 2022: List of winners for the Asia Cup

India has won the Asia Cup title seven times in total. They won it in 1984, 1988, 1990–91, 1995, 2010, 2016, and 2018, respectively. Sri Lanka has won the championship five times in 1986, 1997, 2004, 2008, and 2014. The Men in Green have won the championship twice, in 2000 and 2012.

SeasonYearChampionRunners-upWinning MarginFormatHost
142018IndiaBangladeshBy 3 wicketsODIUAE
132016IndiaBangladeshBy 8 wicketsT20Bangladesh
122014Sri LankaPakistanBy 5 wicketsODIBangladesh
112012PakistanBangladeshBy 2 runsODIBangladesh
102010IndiaSri LankaBy 81 runsODISri Lanka
92008Sri LankaIndiaBy 100 runsODIPakistan
82004Sri LankaIndiaBy 25 runsODISri Lanka
72000PakistanSri LankaBy 39 runsODIBangladesh
61997Sri LankaIndiaBy 8 wicketsODISri Lanka
51995IndiaSri LankaBy 8 wicketsODIUAE
41990-91IndiaSri LankaBy 7 wicketsODIIndia
31988IndiaSri LankaBy 6 wicketsODIBangladesh
21986Sri LankaPakistanBy 5 wicketsODISri Lanka
11984IndiaSri LankaBy 54 runsODIUAE

Who won the first Asia Cup in 1984?

India won the first edition of the Asia Cup in 1984, beating Sri Lanka by 54 runs.

How many Asia Cup titles has India won so far?

India has won the Asia Cup title seven times in total. They won it in 1984, 1988, 1990–91, 1995, 2010, 2016, and 2018, respectively

Who won the last Asia Cup?

India is the defending champions of Asia Cup, having won it in 2018 and 2016.

How many times Pakistan has won the Asia Cup?

Pakistan has won the championship twice, in 2000 and 2012.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *